Excuse Me While I Kiss This Guy!

I was driving home today, jammin’ to the radio, as usual. Upon hearing “Whistle” by Flo Rida, my innocent mind was like “What the heck does he have a whistle for? Why would anyone blow on some stranger’s whistle… ut oh… oh, oh Flo Rida, you so naaaaasty…”

This got me thinking about how I have a knack for misinterpreting song lyrics. Problem is, when I finally do learn the actual lyric, it’s way too late to correct the wrong lyric in my brain. Once introduced to ridiculousness, my brain won’t accept anything less than ridiculous for replacement of previously learned and accepted-as-fact knowledge.

What lyrics have you been singing totally wrong, or misinterpreting the meaning of? If you are one of those people that played “Lips of an Angel” by Hinder at your wedding, or busted out with “There’s a bathroom on the right” when singing along with CCR, then you’re just as effed up as me! Here are some song lyrics that I still sing the way I initially interpreted them, even though I know I’m totally wrong. (The actual song title and artist is listed after the associated pic.)

I can’t butter shit around here!

“Better Man” by Pearl Jam “Can’t find a better man…”

Ya know… originally off the coast of Africa!

“Rock You Like a Hurricane” by The Scorpions “Here I am, rock you like a hurricane…”

It was easier to tag the toe I suppose.

“I’d Die Without You” by PM DAWN “Since I, died without you…”

Side Note: My best friend and I called 102 Jams radio station in Greensboro, NC with these lyrics – they asked us to write a whole song verse. We did, and they played a sound byte of us singing it for a month. It was awesome!

Who can blame you?!

“Miss You Like Crazy” by Natalie Cole “I miss ya like crazzzzy…”

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

“Dirty Deeds” by AC/DC “Dirty deeds, done dirt cheap…”

Oh Stumpy, you are a card!

“The Stroke” by Billy Squire “Stroke me, stroke me
Could be a winner boy you move mighty well…”

Better take some Monkey Nyquil.

“Down with the Sickness” by Disturbed “You mother get up
Come on get down with the sickness…”

Spam, the other white meat.

“Informer” by Snow “Informer
You know say Daddy Snow me, I’m gonna blame
A licky boom-boom down…”

Zom- bees?!

“Thriller” by Michael Jackson “‘Cause this is thriller, thriller night
And no one’s gonna save you from the beast about strike…”

The penis wants what the penis wants, and the penis wants a genie.

“Venus” by Bananarama “Well, I’m your Venus, I’m your fire
At your desire…”

4 thoughts on “Excuse Me While I Kiss This Guy!

  1. “But you fell in that pot hoooollllle…I feel real bad, but you lied to me, so-i-dont-care-if-you-lost-yer-shoez, you deserved to die anywayayayay…Cuz I’d die without shoooooeeessss!” Good times…jamz, oh jamz, jamz, oh jamz, jamz, oh jamz…

  2. I do this a lot, and I also sing along to the radio in work a lot. There’s too many to remember. The only ones I can think of are Manic Street Preachers – Design for Life, “we don’t talk bath plug” which should be…”we don’t talk about love”. The other one is Charles and Eddie – Would I lie to you which I always sang along as “oh la la to you baby, oh la la to you”.

Leave a Reply

